19 June 1880

Salt Lake Stake Primary; Assembly Hall, Salt Lake City, Utah Territory

A large church building with sharp pointed spires and a central tower

Assembly Hall, Salt Lake City, Utah Territory. Photograph by Charles R. Savage, circa 1866–1906. (Courtesy Church History Library.)

[. . .] The middle seats of the Tabernacle were filled with the children of the Primary Associations of the city. President E. R. Snow Smith presiding. [. . .] The first business transacted was to appoint a central committee to preside over the Primary Associations of the Salt Lake Stake of Zion. Mrs. Ellen C. S. Clawson was nomiuated and sustained as President, Mrs. Camilla [M.] Cobb and Miss Annie Davis as her Counselors. “Sister Eliza,” then nominated Mrs. Louie [Louise B.] Felt as General Superintendent, to preside over all the Primary Associations of all the Stakes of Zion, which was unanimously carried. Mrs. Matilda M. Barratt and Mrs. Clara M. Cannon were sustained as her Counselors. “Sister Eliza” addressed the children for a few minutes and asked them some questions, which were promptly answered. [. . .] The children sang by request, “O my Father.” “Sister Eliza” announced that President [John] Taylor and President Angus M. Cannon were present, and asked the children who they would like to speak to them; they answered, President John Taylor.

[. . .] [p. 21] [. . .]

[. . .] Prest. Taylor gave much more instruction to the sisters, and closed his remarks by saying, God bless the children and God bless the sisters with Sister Snow at their head. Mrs. M. I. [Mary Isabella] Horne moved, and Mrs. S. [Sarah] M. Kimball seconded the motion that President Taylor publicly appoint “Sister Eliza” as president of all the Relief Societies. Prest. Taylor stated that Sister Eliza had been secretary of the first organization of Relief Society in Nauvoo. Prest. Taylor then nominated her and she was sustained as president. Sister Eliza then chose Sisters Zina D. [H.] Young and Elizabeth Ann Whitney as her counselors, who were then nominated by President Taylor and sustained by the conference; also Sarah M. Kimball as secretary and M. Isabella Horne as treasurer. These sisters form a central organization for all the Relief Societies of all the Stakes of Zion. [. . .] [p. 22]

Source Note

E. B. W., “Salt Lake Stake Relief Society Conference,” Woman’s Exponent 9, no. 3 (1 July 1880): 21–22. (Also available as “Salt Lake Stake Relief Society, Report, June 18 and 19, 1880,” First Fifty Years of Relief Society website, Church History Department, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, published 2017, churchhistorianspress.org.)

See also “New Organizations,” Deseret Evening News 13, no. 178 (19 June 1880): [3]; “Ladies’ Territorial and State Organizations,” Deseret Evening News 13, no. 179 (21 June 1880): [3]; and Salt Lake Stake, Relief Society Record Book (1868–1903), pp. 47–48, CHL (LR 604 70).

Cite this page

19 June 1880, Salt Lake Stake Primary; Assembly Hall, Salt Lake City, Utah Territory, The Discourses of Eliza R. Snow, accessed February 23, 2024 https://production.churchhistorianspress.org/eliza-r-snow/1880s/1880/06/1880-06-19-a